The members of the World Squash Federation’s „Technical Committee“ are all experts in the field of squash court construction, squash rackets, squash balls, squash eye wear and squash wear. They set standards for squash court construction, with regard to dimensions and design of squash courts.

In addition the World Squash Federation has got partner companies The companies’ products get their accreditation after running through the accreditation procedure. One of the most long-standing partners has been ASB SquashCourts. Since 1978 ASB SquashCourts has been partner of the World Squash Federation.

In 2012/13, the World Squash Federation has accredited the following ASB products


In addition ASB has always revolutionized the sport of squash with innovative ideas and products. ASB is the only squash court producer that was awarded with the “innovation award“. In 2003 President Susie Simcock handed the award to Horst Babinsky on the occasion of the AGM of the World Squash Federation.

A list of the ASB-innovations

1976 Start with the first ASB SystemCourt
1978 ASB Pro GlassBackWall
1979 Development of the ASB movable wall
1979 Development of the ASB rotary GlassBackWall
1981 The health ASB SportsFloor
1987 Innovation Award of the squash press
1990 ASB GameCourt
1991 ASB SquashCourt System 100
1995 ASB RainbowCourts
1998 ASB ShowGlassCourt
2000 ASB SensitiveTin and ASB TopSquash
2003 Innovations Award World Squash Federation
2006 ASB GlassFloor
2007 First Glass Court on the Club Ship AIDAdiva
2008 ASB CeramicFloor
2009 ASB ShowGlassCourt / upgrade: glass fins instead of metal poles
2010 ASB SquashCourt Sytem 85
2011 ASB RefereeSystem and ASB TopSquash (screens)
2011 ASB ShowGlassCourt / upgrade: bigger panels, TV visibility)
2012 ASB TVO Floor (TV optimised)
2013 ASB ShowGlassCourt / upgrade: LED (out, service and tin) lines


History and structure of the World Squash Federation

The World Squash Federation is the highest institution of international squash. Founded in 1967 under the name “International Squash Rackets Federation” In 1992 it got the present name: World Squash Federation.

The World Squash Federation has presently 135 member nations, which are represented in the WSF through their national governing body. All of these national squash federations are registered with the respective national Olympic Committee and with the responsible sports ministry as representative of the sport of squash.

The WSF is run by the so called Management Committee (ManCom), which is responsible for the day-to-day routine. The ManCom members are elected at the General Assembly. There is one president and 3 vice-presidents. N. Ramachandran from India is the present WSF president. Together with Jahangir Khan, former WSF president, multiple world champion and British Open champion, and now honorary president of the WSF, N. Ramachandran wants to bring squash to Olympia. In the past years this failed, because squash did not get the required 2/3 majority from the Olympic Committee.

Together with the PSA (Professional Squash Association, men) and WISPA (Women’s International Squash Players Association) the WSF coordinates the world-wide squash tournament calendar. This makes sure that no important events overlap.

The WSF also plans, promotes the world championships and awards them to the respective countries. There are championships for women, men, juniors and seniors. Team championships are held every second year, single championships every year.

An important task of WSF also is to make sure that squash is part of the multi-sports events. Amongst these are the Commonwealth Games, Pan American Games, Asian Games, World Games and the All Africa Games.